Resources: Photography : Museums, Schools, and Other

Schools

International Center of Photography
A collection of over 200,000 photographs held by the International Center of Photography.

Associated Press Newsroom
Timely and authoritative, Associated Press Newsroom is a searchable database of photos created by journalists for use in editorial. Updated often.
Reuters - The Wider Image
Photojournalism from Reuters.

George Eastman Museum
George Eastman was the founder of the Kodak Company. His museum in Rochester, NY, holds over 400,000 photographic objects, many of which are available digitally here.
National Gallery of Art
The National Gallery of Art in Washington D.C. has an extensive collection of photos which can be viewed online.
Philadelphia Art Museum
An extensive collection of photos held by one of the best art museums in the country. You can also search for works in other media.
Whitney Museum of Art
Whitney Museum of Art collects fine art in all media, and is especially renowned for its photography collection. More than 26,000 pieces.

Alfred Stieglitz
The Alfred Stieglitz Collection, courtesy of Art Institute of Chicago.
Alice Austen
An archive of Alice Austen's work held by the Alice Austen House.
Ansel Adams
Ansel Adams is one of America's most famous landscape photographers.
Dorothea Lange
The Dorothea Lange Archive, housed at Oakland Museum of California.
Lawrence Schiller
The website of the photojournalist responsible for many iconic images of American history.
Vivian Maier
Multiple portfolios of photographs by Vivian Maier.

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Collection
The Library of Congress is your library. The prints and photographs online catalog allows you to search numerous collections of images held by Library of Congress.
New York Public Library Digitial Collections
The New York Public Library Digital Collections is comprised of over 1 million individuated images. In addition to photographs, it also includes prints, maps, and more.
NJ State Library
Images and maps made available online by NJ State Library. No library card necessary.